The Yale Medal is the highest honor bestowed by the Yale Alumni Association, honoring outstanding voluntary individual service to the university.

Now is your chance to help us recognize our most deserving alumni and friends.

The YAA is accepting nominations for the 2024 Yale Medal through February 12, 2024. (Yale Medal nominations are open and accepted year-round, but the 2024 deadline is fast approaching.) Those wishing to nominate a candidate are encouraged to use the online nomination form, and if needed, can reach out to the YAA for additional guidance.

The medalists are selected by a committee of the YAA Board of Governors. Up to five Yale Medals are awarded each year, presented at a ceremony held during the annual YAA Assembly and Alumni Fund Convocation in November.

The Yale Medal dates back to 1959, with more than 350 recognized since that time. Those honored reflect a wide range of service and leadership, with recipients taking many different paths to their recognition. The Yale Medal may be awarded to alumni or friends. Candidates do not have to be Yale degree holders but are required to be present at the November awards ceremony.

The 2023 recipients (pictured above with Xiaoyan Huang ’91, Peter Salovey ’86 PhD, and Weili Cheng ’77) were David Sanchez ’84 MA, ’84 MPhil (upper left), John Jackson ’67 (upper right), Timothy Collins ’82 MBA (lower left), Andrea DaRif ’73, ’74 MFA (center), and Edward Hirs ’79, ’79 MA, ’81 MBA (lower right).