All Yale medalists in attendance at the 2019 Assembly and Convocation gather for a group photo.
All past Yale medalists in attendance gather at the 2019 ceremony.
L to R: Tim Collins, Andrea DaRif, Ed Hirs, John Jackson, and David Sanchez

2023 Yale Medal Recipients

Five distinguished Yalies will be honored later this year with the Yale Medal, awarded for outstanding individual service to the university. The 2023 Yale Medalists are Tim Collins ’82 MBA, Andrea DaRif ’73, ’74 MFA, Ed Hirs ’79, ’79 MA, ’81 MBA, John Jackson ’67, and David Sanchez ’84 MA. Read more.

About the Yale Medal

Info Accordions

The Yale Medal is given for outstanding service to Yale, in recognition of extensive, exemplary voluntary service on behalf of Yale as a whole or one of its many schools, institutes or programs.  The Yale Medal is awarded once a year during the YAA Assembly to up to five persons. Winners must be able to attend the Yale Medal dinner in November to receive the medal.

Nominations are accepted at any time. Alumni and friends of the university are encouraged to nominate qualified individuals using this form: Yale Medal Nomination.

  • Nominations: Year round
  • Submission Deadline for that year's consideration: February
  • Selection: April Alumni Association Board Meeting 
  • Winners Notified: May/June
  • Award Presentation: November at Yale Medal Dinner during the YAA Assembly/Yale Alumni Fund Convocation

The Yale Alumni Association awards the Yale Medal. The selection committee consists of not fewer than six YAA Board members. Other committee members serving ex officio members are the Executive Director of the YAA, the Provost, the Secretary and Vice President for Student Life, the Vice President for Alumni Affairs & Development, a representative from the president's office, a member of the Corporation, and three faculty members. The committee may nominate up to five persons a year to receive the Yale Medal and the slate is approved the full board.

All past recipients of the Yale Medal can be found on our Award Recipient page and can be searched by name and year.

2022 Yale Medal recipients

2022: Gina Boswell, Alison Brody, Rockwell Chin, Lauren Graham, and Donald Roberts

The 2022 awardees are: Gina Rosselli Boswell ’89 MBA, Alison E. Brody ’95, Rockwell “Rocky” Chin ’71 MCP, Lauren E. Graham ’13 MEM, and Donald M. Roberts ’57. Read more.

Yale Medal 2021

2021: Ralph Dawson, Neil Mazzella, Lise Strickler, Thomas Leatherbury, and Kevin Nelson

The recipients of the 2021 Yale Medal are Ralph C. Dawson ’71, Thomas S. Leatherbury ’76, ’79 JD, Neil A. Mazzella ’78 MFA, Kevin P. Nelson ’92 MPH, and Lise Strickler ’82. They were honored in a special virtual ceremony. Read more.

2020 Yale Medalists (L to R) Bruce Alexander, Rahul Prasad, Judith Schiff, Kurt Schmoke, and Alice Young.

2020: Bruce Alexander, Rahul Prasad, Judith Ann Schiff, Kurt Schmoke, and Alice Young

The 2020 Yale Medal awardees are: Bruce D. Alexander ’65, Rahul R. Prasad ’84 MS, ’87 PhD, Judith Ann Schiff, Kurt L. Schmoke ’71, and Alice Young ’71. They were honored during a virtual celebration held in conjunction with the 2020-21 Assembly and Convocation. Read more.

2019 Yale Medal recipients Scott R. Williamson ’80, Nancy Marx Better ’84, John Walsh ’61, Caroline Hsiao Van ’79, and William H. Donaldson ’53.

2019: Nancy Marx Better, William Donaldson, Caroline Van, John Walsh, and Scott Williamson

The recipients of the 2019 Yale Medal were Nancy Marx Better ’84, William H. Donaldson ’53, Caroline Hsiao Van ’79, John Walsh ’61, and Scott R. Williamson ’80. They were honored at the YAA Assembly and Alumni Fund Convocation in November. Read more.

Left to right: Lise Pfeiffer Chapman ’81 M.B.A., Gregory J. Hall ’77, Bo Hopkins ’86 M.B.A., Margaret Hilary Marshall ’76 J.D., ’12 LL.D.H, and Sheryl Carter Negash ’82.

2018: Lise Pfeiffer Chapman, Gregory J. Hall, Bo Hopkins, Margaret Hilary Marshall, and Sheryl Carter Negash

The 2018 Yale Medal recipients were Lise Pfeiffer Chapman ’81 M.B.A., Gregory J. Hall ’77, Bo Hopkins ’86 M.B.A., Margaret Hilary Marshall ’76 J.D., ’12 LL.D.H, and Sheryl Carter Negash ’82. Prior to being honored, the five talked about what it was like to find out they had been chosen for this year’s award, the lessons they’ve learned as volunteers, and their advice for those who might follow in their footsteps. Read more.

2017 Yale Medal recipients

2017: Anne Boucher, Kenneth D. Inadomi, Charles B. Johnson, Randolph M. Nelson, and L‎inus Travers

Five individuals who have shown outstanding service to the university will receive the highest award presented by the Association of Yale Alumni (AYA): the Yale Medal. This year’s recipients are Anne Boucher '80; Kenneth D. Inadomi '76; Charles B. Johnson '54; Randolph M. Nelson '85; and L‎inus Travers '58, '59 M.A.T. Read more.

Yale Medal 2022

2016: Roland W. Betts, Thomas B. Ketchum, Susan E. Lennon, James C. Lu, and Indra K. Nooyi

Five individuals have been selected by the Association of Yale Alumni (AYA) to receive the Yale Medal in 2016. This year’s recipients are Roland W. Betts ’68, Thomas B. Ketchum ’72, Susan E. Lennon ‘85 M.P.P.M., James C. Lu ’77 and Indra K. Nooyi ’80 M.P.P.M. Read more.

2015 recipients of the Yale Medal

2015: R. Kemerer Edwards, Melanie A. Ginter, Steve Scher, Theodore Shen, and Barbara Wagner

Five individuals have been selected by the Association of Yale Alumni to receive the 2015 Yale Medal in November. This year’s recipients are R. Kemerer (Kem) Edwards ’49, Melanie A. Ginter ’78, ‘81 M.S., Steve Scher ’56, ’66 Ph.D., Theodore (Ted) Shen ’66, and Barbara Wagner ’73. Read more.

2014 recipients of the Yale Medal

2014: Sherry Agar, Edward P. Bass, Marv Berenblum, Michael Madison, and John M.R. Thomas

Five individuals were honored by Association of Yale Alumni (AYA) and presented with the Yale Medal by President Peter Salovey ’86 Ph.D. and AYA chair Lise Chapman ’81 M.B.A. at a dinner in Yale Common on Nov. 14. This year’s recipients are Sherry Agar ’82, Edward P. Bass ’67, ’68 B.S., ’72 Arch., Marv Berenblum ’56, Michael Madison ’83, and John M.R. Thomas ’80. Read more.